Schoeller & von Rehlingen PUBLIC RELATIONS

IWC

IWC

IWC’s watch families – the Pilot’s Watches, Portuguese, Ingenieur, Aquatimer, Da Vinci and Portofino – look back on a long tradition. They are testimony to the innovative vision of the engineers in Schaffhausen across four generations and they embrace the unrivalled breadth of the company’s watchmaking expertise: from robust watches for everyday use to professional sports watches and the complexities of haute horlogerie at its finest. These are joined by watch specialities such as the Grande Complication and the IWC Vintage Collection.


In 1868, Boston watchmaker Florentine Ariosto Jones founded the International Watch Co. in Schaffhausen, far from the watchmaking centres of French-speaking Switzerland. His plan was to bring together progressive American production techniques with the skilled craftsmanship for which Swiss watchmakers were renowned.


In the mid-1970s the freelance designer Gérald Genta revolutionized the appearance of modern watches by applying a distinctly modernist, technical stylistic language. For IWC Schaffhausen he designed the legendary Ingenieur SL, and instead of concealing the screws used to affix the bezel, he turned them into the hallmark of this watch family.


In the 1980s, IWC started using flat automatic movements in the Ingenieur models, including the new Ingenieur SL which launched in 1983 and was only 10 millimetres thick. The Ingenieur in titanium, launched in 1985, showed IWC masterfully introducing this material in the product family. In 1989, IWC presented the Ingenieur Automatic, whose impressive protection against magnetic fields withstood even a magnetic resonance tomograph generating 3.7 million A/m. In 2005, the watch family celebrated a comeback with three new models. In 2007, the Big Ingenieur’s extra-large 51113 calibre, Pellaton winding system and 7-day power reserve created a sensation. In the following years the supremely robust Ingenieur Automatic proved itself a dependable timepiece in extreme situations.

Schoeller & von Rehlingen PUBLIC RELATIONS

IWC

IWC

Die IWC-Uhrenfamilien – Fliegeruhren, Portugieser, Ingenieur, Aquatimer, Da Vinci und Portofino – haben eine lange Tradition: Sie zeugen von der Innovationskraft der Ingenieure in Schaffhausen über vier Generationen und beinhalten die ganze Bandbreite uhrmacherischen Know-hows des Unternehmens von robusten Uhren für den täglichen Gebrauch über professionelle Sportuhren bis zu den feinsten Komplikationen der Haute Horlogerie. Das Angebot vervollständigen Uhrenspezialitäten wie die Grande Complication oder die IWC Vintage Collection.


1868 gründete der Bostoner Uhrmacher Florentine Ariosto Jones die IWC International Watch Co. in Schaffhausen, weit entfernt von den Zentren der Uhrenherstellung in der französischsprachigen Schweiz. Sein Ziel war die Verbindung fortschrittlicher amerikanischer Produktionstechniken mit dem handwerklichen Geschick der Schweizer Uhrmacher.


Mitte der 1970er-Jahre revolutionierte der freischaffende Designer Gérald Genta das Erscheinungsbild moderner Uhren mit einer schnörkellosen, technisch anmutenden Formensprache. Für IWC Schaffhausen entwarf er die legendäre Ingenieur SL. Anstatt die konstruktionsbedingten Bohrungen für das Einschrauben der Lünette zu kaschieren, machte er sie zum Markenzeichen der Uhrenfamilie.


In den 1980er Jahren stattete IWC ihre Ingenieur-Modelle mit flachen Automatikwerken aus, darunter die neue Ingenieur SL aus dem Jahr 1983 mit nur 10 Millimetern Bauhöhe. Mit der Ingenieur in Titan führte die Schaffhauser Manufaktur diesen anspruchsvollen Werkstoff 1985 auch innerhalb der Ingenieur-Familie ein. 1989 präsentierte IWC die Ingenieur Automatic, deren imponierender Magnetfeldschutz selbst einem Kernspintomografen mit 3,7 Millionen A/m standhielt. Ein Comeback feierte die Uhrenfamilie in 2005 mit drei neuen Modellen. Ausgestattet mit dem Grosskaliber 51113 mit Pellaton-Aufzug und sieben Tagen Gangreserve, sorgte 2007 die Grosse Ingenieur für Furore. In den folgenden Jahren profilierte sich die Ingenieur Automatic mit ihrer Robustheit als zuverlässige Zeitmesserin für Extremsituationen.

 

Jewellery  &  Watches